Who we are

The Ohio Oil and Gas Energy Education Program (OOGEEP) is a non-profit energy education and public outreach organization. OOGEEP’s primary focus includes teacher workshopsscholarshipsscience fairfirefighter trainingworkforce development, guest speaker programs, along with creating and distributing fact sheets and handouts.

OOGEEP is considered a creditable resource by the educational, emergency response, regulatory and general public communities, and has earned numerous state and national awards.

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code 1510, OOGEEP is funded by Ohio’s natural gas and oil producers through an assessment on the production of all natural gas and oil produced in Ohio. The current assessment rate is currently five cents ($0.05) per gross barrel of crude oil (including condensate) and one half cent ($0.005) per gross Mcf (thousand cubic feet) of natural gas produced in Ohio. The assessment is collected by first purchasers of natural gas and oil, and remitted quarterly directly to OOGEEP. Horizontal producers have an option to participate in a direct assessment pay option with an OOGEEP Board-approved application. Click here for more information regarding funding.

This investment by Ohio’s natural gas and oil producers underscores their ongoing commitment to provide and promote safe and environmentally sound operating practices, to help consumers better understand the importance of the natural gas and oil industry, and to continue to be good corporate stewards through these education and public outreach initiatives.

Mission Statement

Our Mission Statement (Revised February 24, 2014):

The Ohio Oil and Gas Energy Education Program (“OOGEEP”) is a non-profit industry funded education program with the following mandates:

1. The promotion of a positive public awareness of the local oil and gas industry, and its vital energy and economic benefits to Ohio.
2. The development and implementation of educational materials and workshops in schools and public outreach programs pertaining to the science and technology of exploration, development and production of oil and gas;
3. The production of materials and training workshops for the industry and emergency responders;
4. To provide a factual and timely response to the public on questions, situations or concerns affecting the Ohio oil and gas industry.

OOGEEP shall utilize research, marketing, media and support staff as necessary to implement these mandates.


Awards Presented to OOGEEP

  • Energy Education Stewardship Award,
    Interstate Oil and Gas Compact
  • Excellence Award in Education and Technology,
    Eastern Ohio Development Alliance
  • Samuel T. Pees Keeper of the Flame Award,
    Petroleum History Institute
  • Power Players Who Are Guiding Ohio Shale,
    Crain's Shale Magazine
  • Who’s Who in Energy,
    Columbus Business First
  • 2012 Oilfield Patriot Award
    Ohio Oil and Gas Association,
  • Outstanding Project (Teacher Education),
    Ohio EPA / Ohio Environmental
    Education Fund
  • Special Recognition Award for Training
    & Safety,
    Wayne County Fire & Rescue
  • Top 5 Finalists
    Best Public Outreach Program,
    World Oil Magazine
  • Friend of Science Award,
    Science Education Council of Ohio
  • Presidential Award,
    American Association of Petroleum
  • Stewardship Recognition,
    Wayne National Forest
  • Public Outreach Stewardship Award,
    Interstate Oil and Gas Compact
  • Minerals Education Award,
    Ohio Department of Natural Resources
    Division of Oil and Gas
    Resources Management
  • Workhorse Award,
    Southeastern Ohio Oil and Gas

OOGEEP Pipeline Awards

  • Jane Hunt
    Environmental Science Teacher,
    Upper Arlington High School
    - Teacher Education Programs -

  • Judie Perkowski
    Reporter, The Daily & Sunday Jeffersonian
    and Ohio Gas & Oil Magazine
    - Media Outreach -

  • Brent Gates
    New Concord Fire Department
    - Fire Training Program -

  • Dr. Robert W. Chase
    Chair and Benedum Professor,
    Dept. of Petroleum Engineering & Geology
    - Workforce Development / Higher Ed. -

  • Timothy McNutt
    Director, Gas Operations,
    Dominion Energy Ohio
    - Boy Scout Program -

  • Marty Miller
    Vice President, Operations,
    Alliance Petroleum Corporation
    - Industry Safety Programs -

  • Craig Whitaker
    Physical Geology Science Teacher,
    Perry High School
    - Teacher Education Programs -

  • Charlie Dixon
    Retired from Fire Service and
    Natural Gas and Oil Industry
    - Safety Training Program -


  • David Hill, OOGEEP Chair
    David R. Hill, Inc.
  • Brian Chavez, OOGEEP Vice Chair
    Washington Operations/Condevco, Inc.
  • Jeff Baker, OOGEEP Treasurer
    Bakerwell, Inc.
  • Maribeth Anderson
    Antero Resources Corporation
  • Brent Breon
    Pin Oak Energy Partners
  • Clint Cameron
    Cameron Drilling Co., Inc.
  • Bret Dockter
  • Don Huck
    Artex Oil Company
  • Chris Kimble
    Red Hill Development
  • Bruce Levengood
    Sound Energy Company, Inc.
  • Stephanie Paluda
    Southwestern Energy
  • Steve Sigler
    Buckeye Oil Producing


  • – Communications Committee –
    Maribeth Anderson,
    Antero Resources Corporation
  • – Education Committee –
    Don Huck, Artex Oil Company
  • – Finance Committee –
    Jeff Baker, Bakerwell, Inc.
  • – Safety Committee –
    Clint Cameron, Cameron Drilling Co., Inc.


P.O. Box 187
Granville, OH 43023
(740) 587-0410 | www.oogeep.org